If you had made any changes locally, you may run into merge conflicts,
where the Fosscord team has made changes to the same code you changed. If it's not important to you, you can simply run
git reset --hard HEAD
which will delete all your changes. If you want to keep them, you'll have to go through each conflict and resolve them.
After downloading the new version, go through the setup guide as normal again: